Each Contracting Party shall, as regards the exchange of ratifications, deliver a single instrument, which shall be deposited with those of the other countries in the archives of the Government of the Swiss Confederation. Each Party shall receive in return a copy of the *procès-verbal* of the exchange of ratifications signed by the Plenipotentiaries who took part.

Article 29

The present Convention shall be put in force three months after the exchange of ratifications, and shall remain in force for an indefinite period until the termination of a year from the day on which it may have been denounced.

Such denunciation shall be made to the Government of the Swiss Confederation. It shall

only take effect in regard to the country making it, the Convention remaining in full force and effect for the other countries of the Union.

Article 30

The States which shall introduce in their legislation the duration of protection for fifty years contemplated by Article 7, first paragraph, of the present Convention, shall give notice thereof in writing to the Government of the Swiss Confederation, who will communicate it at once to all the other States of the Union.

The same procedure shall be followed in the case of the States renouncing the reservations made by them in virtue of Articles 25, 26 and 27.

Berne Additional Protocol, 1914*

Additional Protocol to the Revised Berne Convention of November 13, 1908

of March 20, 1914

- 1. Where any country outside the Union fails to protect in an adequate manner the works of authors who are subject to the jurisdiction of one of the contracting countries, nothing in the Convention of the 13th November 1908 shall affect the right of such contracting country to restrict the protection given to the works of authors who are at the date of the first publication thereof subjects or citizens of the said non-union country, and are not effectively domiciled in one of the countries of the Union.
- *The Berne Additional Protocol was signed by the following eighteen countries: Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Haiti, Italy, Japan, Liberia, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, and the United Kingdom.

- 2. The right accorded by the present Protocol to contracting States belongs equally to any of their oversea possessions.
- 3. No restrictions introduced by virtue of paragraph 1 of the present Protocol shall in any way affect the rights which an author may have acquired in respect of a work published in a country of the Union before such restrictions were put in force.
- 4. The States which restrict the grant of copyright in accordance with the present Protocol shall give notice thereof to the Government of the Swiss Confederation by a written declaration specifying the countries in regard to which protection is restricted, and the restrictions to which rights of authors who are subject to the jurisdiction of these countries are subjected. The Government of the

Swiss Confederation will immediately communicate this declaration to all the other States of the Union.

5. The present Protocol shall be ratified, and the ratifications deposited at Berne within a period not exceeding twelve months from the date thereof. It shall come into operation one month after the expiration of this period, and shall have the same force and duration as the Convention to which it relates.

Rome Act, 1928*

International Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works

Signed at Berne On the 9th September, 1886, Revised at Berlin On the 13th November, 1908, and Revised at Rome On the 2nd June, 1928

Article 1

The countries to which the present Convention applies are constituted into a Union for the protection of the rights of authors over their literary and artistic works.

Article 2

(1) The term 'literary and artistic works' shall include every production in the literary, scientific and artistic domain, whatever may be the mode or form of its expression, such as books, pamphlets and other writings; lectures, addresses, sermons, and other works of the same nature; dramatic or dramatico-musical works, choreographic works and entertainments in dumb show, the acting form of which is fixed in writing or otherwise; musical compositions with or without words; works of drawing, painting, architecture, sculpture, engraving and lithography; illustrations, geo-graphical charts, plans, sketches, and plastic works relative to geography, topography, architecture or science.

*The Rome Act was signed by the following 33 countries: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Rumania, Spain, Syria, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, and the United Kingdom.

- (2) Translations, adaptations, arrangements of music and other reproductions in an altered form of a literary or artistic work, as well as collections of different works, shall be protected as original works without prejudice to the rights of the author of the original work.
- (3) The countries of the Union shall be bound to make provision for the protection of the above-mentioned works.
- (4) Works of art applied to industrial purposes shall be protected so far as the domestic legislation of each country allows.

Article 2bis

- (1) The right of partially or wholly excluding political speeches and speeches delivered in legal proceedings from the protection provided by the preceding Article is reserved for the domestic legislation of each country of the Union.
- (2) The right of fixing the conditions under which lectures, addresses, sermons and other works of the same nature may be reproduced by the press is also reserved for the domestic legislation of each country of the Union. Nevertheless, the author shall have the sole right of making a collection of the said works.

Article 3

The present Convention shall apply to photographic works and to works produced