Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement (TPPA)

The governments of Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, Vietnam and the United States are negotiating a multilateral free trade agreement known as the Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement (TPP). Canada, Mexico and Japan joined negotiations later on in the process than did the other countries. Canada and Mexico's first entry into the negotiating room occurred in the New Zealand round of negotiations held in December 2012, more than a year after their formal requests to join the negotiations. Japan's entry occurred on the final day of negotiations of the July 2013 negotiating round held in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia.

The negotiations are being conducted with considerable secrecy, even though they address many issues of great interest to the general public. The Agreement will cover many topics, including intellectual property rights, the pricing of pharmaceutical drugs, and the rights of investors to sue states over policies and actions that impact their investments.

The consolidated intellectual property rights text for the TPPA is secret. There have been several partial leaks of the text, including the February 10, 2011 version of the U.S. proposals for the Intellectual Property Rights chapter.

10 February 2011, United States, Proposal for TPP IPR Chapter

On November 13, 2013, the consolidated Intellectual Property Rights chapter for the TPP, including country positions, was leaked by Wikileaks.

KEI Timeline on TPP

Various Leaks of the Proposed Texts

Government Websites, Official Documents and Statements Regarding TPP

Letters on TPP

Civil Society Comments and Websites on TPP

Press Coverage and Other Commentary

Wikileaks-Aug2013-TPP-IP-chapter.pdf633.97 KB