KEI statement: Informal Discussion of the WHO Roadmap Report on Access to Medicines and Vaccines 2019–2023

On Monday morning, 10 September 2018, Knowledge Ecology International (KEI) delivered the following oral statement at the World Health Organization’s (WHO) Informal Discussion of the Roadmap Report on Access to Medicines and Vaccines 2019–2023. The morning session provided UN agencies,… Continue Reading

16 groups write open letter to WHO Director-General Dr Tedros: Roadmap on Access to Medicines and Vaccines 2019-2023

UPDATE: On Wednesday, 15 August 2018, WHO Director-General, Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus provided a response to the open letter on the Roadmap on Access to Medicines and Vaccines 2019-2023. The Director-General’s response can be found here: WHO DG letter to… Continue Reading

As Pandemic Preparedness bill clears House committee, effort to include antibiotics transferable exclusivity extension fails

On July 18, 2018, the U.S. House Energy and Commerce committee gave its approval to HR 6378, the Pandemic and All-Hazards Preparedness Act, known as PAHPA. During the mark up, Reps. John Shimkus (R-IL) and Tony Cárdenas (D-CA) proposed attaching… Continue Reading

SCP28: Chair’s text (version 1) on future work mandates the sharing of state practice on compulsory licensing of medical technologies and transparency of medical patents

Geneva 15h56 On Thursday, 12 July 2018, at the 28th session of the Standing Committee on the Law of Patents (SCP) countries are negotiating over the mandate of WIPO’s future work program on a suite of issues including: 1) Exceptions… Continue Reading